And the winners are…

0 Comments 02 August 2016


Richmond Theatre Critics Circle Award Nominations for the 2015-2016 season

The 2016 Artsies took place Monday, October 17, 7:30 pm at Virginia Rep’s November Theatre. This year’s host was Desiree Roots, who won last year’s Best Actress in a Musical for her performance in Cadence Theatre’s Caroline, or Change.

Congrats to Laine Satterfield for winning Best Direction of a Play, and to Jesse Senechal for earning Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design. Here is the complete list of nominees:

Best Musical
Green Day’s American Idiot
The Boy From Oz
Croaker – The Frog Prince Musical
Little Shop of Horrors

Best Direction (Musical)
Debra Clinton, Croaker – The Frog Prince Musical
Adam Ferguson, Green Day’s American Idiot
Deejay Gray, Lady Day
Chase Kniffen, Dreamgirls
Tom Width, Little Shop of Horrors

Best Actor (Musical)
Denver Crawford, Green Day’s American Idiot
Chris Hester, The Boy From Oz
Ian Page, Little Shop of Horrors
Alexander Sapp, Croaker – The Frog Prince Musical
Jerold Solomon, Dreamgirls

Best Actress (Musical)
Audra Honaker, Little Shop of Horrors
Jenna Kraynak, Seven Brides/Seven Brothers
Katrinah Carol Lewis, Lady Day
Robyn O’Neill, Gypsy
Desiree Roots, Dreamgirls

Best Supporting Actor (Musical)
Billy Dye, Dreamgirls
Adam Mincks, Little Shop of Horrors
Mahlon Raoufi, Seven Brides/Seven Brothers
Durron Tyre, Dreamgirls
D. Jerome Wells, Dreamgirls

Best Supporting Actress (Musical)
Felicia Curry, Dreamgirls
Kathy Halenda, Croaker – The Frog Prince Musical
Anna Hogan, The Boy from Oz
Jeannie Rule, The Boy from Oz
Grey Garrett,The Boy from Oz

Best Musical Direction
Kim Fox, The Boy from Oz
Matt Koon, Green Day’s American Idiot
Jose Simbulan, Gypsy
Travis West, Little Shop of Horrors
John Winn, Dreamgirls

Best Choreography
Justin Amellio, The Boy from Oz
Kate Belleman, Green Day’s American Idiot
Debra Clinton, Croaker – The Frog Prince Musical
Leslie Owens-Harrington, Dreamgirls
Scott Putman, Equus

Best Play
4000 Miles
American Buffalo
The Mountaintop
Peter and the Starcatcher
Stupid F*cking Bird
Venus in Fur

Best Direction – Play
Anna Johnson, Equus
Jon Kretzu, Stupid F*cking Bird
Daniel Moore, American Buffalo
Laine Satterfield, The Mountaintop
Nathaniel Shaw, Peter and the Starcatcher
Matt Shofner, Venus in Fur

Best Actor – Play
Matthew Radford Davies, Merchant of Venice
Joe Inscoe, King Lear
Alan Sader, American Buffalo
Alexander Sapp, Summer and Smoke
Jerold Solomon, The Mountaintop
Scott Wichmann, Peter and the Starcatcher

Best Actress – Play
Kimberly Jones Clark, Christmas on the Rocks
Kelsey Cordrey, Bad Jews
Katrinah Carol Lewis, The Mountaintop
Maggie Roop, Venus in Fur
Irene Ziegler, 4000 Miles

Best Actor in a Supporting Role – Play
Jeff Clevenger, Stupid F*cking Bird
Larry Cook, Equus
Trevor Craft, Brighton Beach Memoirs
Alan Sader, Lazarus Syndrome
Robert Throckmorton, Peter and the Starcatcher

Best Actress in a Supporting Role – Play
Megan Graves, Peter and the Starcatcher
Audra Honaker, Stupid F*cking Bird
Jessi Johnson, Mr. Burns
Margarette Joyner, For Colored Girls
Catherine Carol Walker, Bad Jews

Ernie McClintock Award for Best Ensemble Acting
American Buffalo
Green Day’s American Idiot
Bad Jews
Brighton Beach Memoirs
Mr. Burns
Stupid F*cking Bird

Promising Newcomer
Emma Grace Bailey, Creating Claire
Tyler Stevens, Brighton Beach Memoirs
Adam Valentine, Maple and Vine
Killian Winn, King Lear
Ben Wilson, Green Day’s American Idiot

Outstanding Achievement in Costume Design
Sarah Grady, Dreamgirls
Sue Griffin, Gypsy
Jeanne Nugent, Croaker – The Frog Prince Musical
Jeanne Nugent, Peter and the Starcatcher
Mark Souza, The Boy from Oz

Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Design
Joe Doran, The Little Lion
Joe Doran, Dreamgirls
Joe Doran, Little Shop of Horrors
Michael Jarett, The Boy from Oz
BJ Wilkinson, Summer and Smoke

Outstanding Achievement in Set Design
Tennessee Dixon, Stupid F*cking Bird
Vinnie Gonzalez, American Buffalo
Ron Keller, Dreamgirls
Rich Mason, Summer and Smoke
Craig Napoliello, Peter and the Starcatcher

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design
Tad Burrell, Green Day’s American Idiot
Kelsey Cordrey, American Buffalo
Derek Dumais, Dreamgirls
Joey Luck, The Boy from Oz
Jesse Senechal, The Mountaintop

Liz Marks Memorial Award for Ongoing Contribution to Richmond Theatre
Marie Goodman Hunter
Frances Wessels

This was the first year that the award nomination process was carried out together with the Theater Alliance Panel (TAP), a select group of theater patrons and professionals chosen by the RVA Theatre Alliance. These volunteers lent their professional experience and perspective to the final decisions.

The members of the RTCC that voted on the nominations this year included:
• Tony Farrell (Richmond Times-Dispatch)
• Rich Griset (Style Weekly)
• Suan Haubenstock (Richmond Times-Dispatch)
• Julinda Lewis (Richmond Times-Dispatch)
• John Porter (WCVE-FM)
• Jerry Williams (TVJerry.com / WRIR)

The TAP members were:
• Steve Murden
• Karen Newton
• Patricia Vastano
• Dr. Jack Welsh

Both TAP and Circle members must have seen at least two-thirds of the locally-produced shows during the last season in order to vote.


Contemporary Award-Winning Theatre

Stay Informed

Join our eNewsletter

Subscribe Now

Click here to download and print the 2017-2018 season subscription form.

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Load More

Photos on flickr

© 2018 Cadence Theatre Company. Powered by WordPress.