Next to Normal

Duke Lafoon (Dan) and Andrea Rivette (Diana). Photo credit Jason Collins Photography

Next to Normal
book and lyrics by Brian Yorkey and music by Tom Kitt
April 26-May 18, 2013 | The Sara Belle and Neil November Theatre, Marjorie Arenstein Stage

presented by Cadence Theatre Company in partnership with Virginia Repertory Theatre

2013 RTCC Award Nominations
Winner Best Musical Direction – Kim Fox
Winner Best Actor in a Musical – Duke Lafoon
Winner Best Actress in a Musical – Andrea Rivette
Winner Best Lighting Design – K. Jenna Ferree
Best Musical
Best Direction of  a Musical – Chase Kniffen
Best Supporting Actor – John Mincks
Best Supporting Actor – Terence Sullivan
Best Supporting Actress in a Musical – Christie Jackson

“The whole show is packed with passion” – Jerry Williams,

“What Cadence calls their season closer, I call a must-see.” Karen Newton, Icouldgoonandon

” …superb casting and solid direction” – Julinda Lewis, Richmond Times-Dispatch

“I was among Next to Normal’s full audience that was there at the end – standing and bravo-ing.”  John Bryan, CultureWorks Blog

“….this soaring, surprising, sometimes gut-wrenching show is getting a bravura staging” – David Timberline, STYLE Weekly

“I had the pleasure of seeing Next to Normal Saturday evening. It was absolutely stunning. The set was dynamic, everyone’s voices beautifully in harmony, and the performances were heart wrenching. The use of lighting was extremely strategic which added to the poignant moments. I could gush on and on. Basically it was a show rivaling any Broadway production and congratulations to everyone involved in this production! I plan on seeing it again.” Katherine Wright, Theatre Patron

Production Team
Christie Jackson…..Natalie
John Mincks……Henry
Duke Lafoon*….Dan
Andrea Rivette*….Diana
Russell Rowland….Dr. Madden/Dr. Fine
Terence Sullivan…..Gabe
Bentley Cobb, Jr.….Drums
Kim Fox…Keyboard
Grant Oliver…Guitar
Michael Knowles…Cello
Jonathan Wheelock…Bass
Pete Dennis…Bass (understudy)
Edward Haskins….Cello (understudy)
Angela Lehman-Rios…Cello (understudy)

The Creative Team
Direction and Choreography: Chase Kniffen
Musical Direction: Kim Fox
Production Management: Chase Kniffen and Wendy Vandergrift
Stage Management: Wendy Vandergrift
Lighting Design: K. Jenna Ferree
Sound Design: Matthew Landwehr
Costume Design: Sue Griffin
Scenic Design: Brian C. Barker
Scenic Artists: Adam Dorland and Lara Koplin
Video Projection Operator and Programmer: Doug Wilkinson
Properties: McLean Jesse and Sarah Stepahin
Master Carpenter: David Powers
Assistant Stage Management: Kim Pawlick and Luke Robinson
Technical Direction: Chase Kniffen and Wendy Vandergrift
Light Board Programmer: Emily Clarkson
Follow Spot Operators: Hannah Caffacus and Emily Clarkson
Master Carpentry Assistant and Head Flyman: Tommy Hawfield
Fly Operators: Chandler Jez and Connor Scully
Light Board Operator: K. Jenna Ferree
Sound Board Operator: Matthew Landwehr
Master Electricians: Casey Walsted, Emma Martinez, Luke Cresson, Matthew Landwehr
Administrative and Marketing
House Management: Sarah Stepahin and Anna Johnson
Publications and Social Media Marketing Director: Billy Christopher Maupin
Development and Marketing Associate: Sheila Shedd
Video Production: Alex Shedd, Reid Kirtle, Dani Brown and Chase Kniffen
Show Photography: Jason Collins Photography
Rehearsal Photography: Elizabeth Sinnenberg
Postcard Design: Chase Kniffen
Internet Services Manager: Lindsay C. Terrell
2012-2013 Production Interns: Taniqua Jones and Connor Scully
2012-2013 Marketing and Administrative Intern: Sarah Stepahin
2012-2013 Literary Associate: Claire Yenson

* Member of Actor’s Equity Association, the Union of Professional Actors and Stage Managers in the United States

Contemporary Award-Winning Theatre

Stay Informed

Join our eNewsletter

Subscribe Now

Click here to download and print the 2017-2018 season subscription form.

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Load More

Photos on flickr

© 2017 Cadence Theatre Company. Powered by WordPress.