Education, Onstage

4th Wall Visits John

No Comments 31 October 2016

The 4th Wall Student Leadership Program students were on the beat at Annie Baker’s John. Watch these great interviews with our cast!



Annie Baker’s John

No Comments 23 September 2016

Annie Baker’s Haunting Drama, John Opens in October

cwk-artoberlogo-0324_colorRichmond, VA—Cadence Theatre Company in partnership with Virginia Rep is pleased to present its first production of the 2016-2017 season, John by Annie Baker. John is presented in association with Artober, hosted by CultureWorks. Elias and Jenny, a young couple struggling to stay together, arrive at a bed and breakfast in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, the week after Thanksgiving. Met by a cheerful innkeeper, and surrounded by thousands of watchful inanimate objects, the two search for connection in lives heavy with loneliness. One of TIME Magazine’s top ten plays of 2015, John intertwines the natural and the supernatural in a haunting meditation on life and love.

“Annie Baker’s mysteriously titled ‘John’ may be one of the smartest, most unusual plays I’ve ever seen.”

– Richmond Times-Dispatch

Ghosts of relationships past are resurrected in Cadence Theatre Company’s ‘John’


Local musicians tackle ambitious score for playwright Annie Baker’s latest

– Style Weekly

John is directed by Rusty Wilson. Title roles are played by Matt Bloch, Anne Michelle Forbes, Kelly Kennedy, and Jean Miller. The design team includes: Rich Mason (Scenic Design), Andrew Bonniwell (Lighting Design), Emily DeAngelis (Costume Design), Ryan Jones and Robbie Kinter (Sound Design), Lara Koplin (Scenic Artist and Set Dressing), Elaina Riddell (Properties), and Tommy Hawfield (Technical Director). Clara Myers is the Stage Manager and Rich Mason serves as the Production Manager.

John  is made possible through the generosity and support of Cadence Theatre Company’s Season Sponsor, Salomon & Ludwin, and our show co-sponsor, Joe Hoyle in honor of Sarah Hoyle. Other major supporters include the E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Foundation, The Virginia Commission for the Arts, The National Endowment for the Arts, and Community Idea Stations.

by Annie Baker

October 20-November 12, 2016 (Preview Performances October 20 and 21)

Theatre Gym at the Virginia Rep Center
114 W. Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23220

Direction by Rusty Wilson
Talk Back Sunday: October 30 after the 4 p.m. matinee
Tickets are $10-$35

John contains adult language and content. Recommended for ages 16+.

For single ticket information and for show times, contact or call (804) 282-2620.



Cadence Wins 2016 ICWP Award

No Comments 19 September 2016

Jerod E. Solomon and Katrinah Carol Lewis in The Mountaintop by Katori Hall.

Cadence Theatre Company is proud to announce that it’s been awarded the 2016 International Center for Women Playwrights (ICWP) 50/50 Applause Award!

A record-breaking number of recipients will receive the 2016 50/50 Applause Awards, which recognizes theatres that produced 50% or more women playwrights in their 2015/16 season of shows. The ICWP defines 50/50 by the number of qualifying performances in a theatre’s season. This allows a concrete measurement of the resources being devoted to women playwrights. Cadence Theatre Company’s 2015-16 Season featured two plays by women playwrights, The Mountaintop by Katori Hall and 4000 Miles by Amy Herzog.

For the awards’ 5th anniversary, ICWP recognized 107 recipients in ten countries on five continents. The list includes theatres in Australia, Canada, England, Italy, Kenya, the Philippines, Scotland, Singapore, Switzerland, and the United States. Approximately 32% of the theatres are repeat recipients, demonstrating gender parity in two or more seasons. Recipients range from community and college theatres to internationally renowned theatres. Meet some of the theatres in the ICWP celebration video.

Click here to read the full list of recipients.

ICWP started in 1988 with a mission to support women playwrights worldwide and bring attention to their work. The ICWP 50/50 Applause Awards were founded in 2012 to increase awareness and applaud theatres that produced a season with an equal or greater number of plays written by female playwrights. More information about the awards can be found at:

Photography by Jason Collins Photography

Contemporary Award-Winning Theatre

Stay Informed

Join our eNewsletter

Subscribe Now

Click here to download and print the 2016/2017 season ticket form.

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Load More

Photos on flickr

© 2016 Cadence Theatre Company. Powered by WordPress.